top of page

WEEK 26

[04.13.18 - 04.19.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

This week was pretty busy since we ended up getting distressed passengers for two consecutive days. As usual, being the only Front Desk Agent assigned in the morning shift, not only did I have to do my daily tasks, but also prepare for the pop-up rooms from an airline.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

The difficulty I encountered this week was that apart from doing my regular daily tasks, I also had to prepare all the reservation and keys for the incoming distressed passengers. I have already encountered this challenge before, which made it simpler for me since I already knew the proper procedures and protocols. However, I would still consider it as a difficulty since it is hard to focus on one thing when you have other reports and tasks to do as well. While pre-checking in the reservations for the passengers, I also had to do the regular check-ins for the guests who were arriving before check-in time. It just got a little bit difficult having to balance all at the same time.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had this week was that the hotel is very dependent on the person working during the shift. For example, the Sales Department that is in charge of big group reservations such as the distressed passengers, end up consulting me regarding the rooms and availability. They also have me assign the rooms, pre-check them in and prepare the keys. Sometimes, I even have to email the organiser for the paper work. They should do most of these tasks since they also have the system. However, I did notice that on days with pop-up distressed groups, they usually have the person working at the front desk to do most of the work.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

One pleasant experience that occurred this week was having an official title at the front desk. I am now a “Senior Front Office Associate”. This means that I have the authority to make managerial decisions and take charge of all the shifts that I am working. I am still working under the Front Office Supervisors, but I am above the regular Front Office Associates. In fact, I am the only Senior Front Office Associate of the entire department, despite being one of the newer employees.

Other comments and observations or suggestions

One major suggestion is that they should call in somebody to help out in the front desk whenever there is a pop-up group. Fortunately, being promoted, I could personally call someone in if I feel that there is a need for an extra hand.

WEEK 26

[04.13.18 - 04.19.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

This week was pretty busy since we ended up getting distressed passengers for two consecutive days. As usual, being the only Front Desk Agent assigned in the morning shift, not only did I have to do my daily tasks, but also prepare for the pop-up rooms from an airline.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

The difficulty I encountered this week was that apart from doing my regular daily tasks, I also had to prepare all the reservation and keys for the incoming distressed passengers. I have already encountered this challenge before, which made it simpler for me since I already knew the proper procedures and protocols. However, I would still consider it as a difficulty since it is hard to focus on one thing when you have other reports and tasks to do as well. While pre-checking in the reservations for the passengers, I also had to do the regular check-ins for the guests who were arriving before check-in time. It just got a little bit difficult having to balance all at the same time.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had this week was that the hotel is very dependent on the person working during the shift. For example, the Sales Department that is in charge of big group reservations such as the distressed passengers, end up consulting me regarding the rooms and availability. They also have me assign the rooms, pre-check them in and prepare the keys. Sometimes, I even have to email the organiser for the paper work. They should do most of these tasks since they also have the system. However, I did notice that on days with pop-up distressed groups, they usually have the person working at the front desk to do most of the work.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

One pleasant experience that occurred this week was having an official title at the front desk. I am now a “Senior Front Office Associate”. This means that I have the authority to make managerial decisions and take charge of all the shifts that I am working. I am still working under the Front Office Supervisors, but I am above the regular Front Office Associates. In fact, I am the only Senior Front Office Associate of the entire department, despite being one of the newer employees.

Other comments and observations or suggestions

One major suggestion is that they should call in somebody to help out in the front desk whenever there is a pop-up group. Fortunately, being promoted, I could personally call someone in if I feel that there is a need for an extra hand.

bottom of page