top of page

WEEK 25

[04.06.18 - 04.12.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

During the week, I focused on my regular front desk checklist. It is the usual check-ins, checkouts, and the like. It was pretty slow throughout the week except for Tuesday, wherein I had to balance the system before leaving work to make sure that the PM shift will not end up overselling rooms.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

The challenge I encountered this week was balancing out the system and controlling inventory. This is actually a job for a manager. However, before the previous Front Office Manager got transferred to a different property, she taught me how to do this. In fact, in the entire front desk department, I am the only one whom she successfully taught. As such, it is a challenge for me to do so because the entire hotel’s revenue somewhat depends on me. If I do not balance the inventory, we could either be losing revenue by not selling all our rooms, or we could be overbooking rooms, which will cost us more.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had this week is that every time there is a day when we are close to being sold out, my supervisor’s video call me if I am not at work. It is difficult at times because balancing out the system involves codes and simple math. Whenever I am out of the house and they call me, I really will have to set aside what I am doing to help them figure out how to balance it out and eventually close the reservations system. As such, I tried to teach the Front Office supervisors. To my dismay, they still were unable to understand it.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

Being the only person at the front desk who knows how to do such thing is both a pleasant and unpleasant experience at the same time. For example, if I am working the morning shift and I noticed that we are close to being sold out, I will personally balance it out myself so that the PM shift will have nothing to worry about. Whenever I do it, the General Manager gives me credit for it, which is a positive thing. However, during the times wherein I cannot balance it myself, I end up getting calls late at night from the PM supervisor to teach her how to close the system, which is very unpleasant.

Other comments and observations or suggestions

One major suggestion that I have is that our revenue manager should teach my supervisors how to balance out the inventory. Although I know how to do it, it is not my job to teach them and guide them how to. It is also not even part of my job description to close the system.

WEEK 25

[04.06.18 - 04.12.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

During the week, I focused on my regular front desk checklist. It is the usual check-ins, checkouts, and the like. It was pretty slow throughout the week except for Tuesday, wherein I had to balance the system before leaving work to make sure that the PM shift will not end up overselling rooms.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

The challenge I encountered this week was balancing out the system and controlling inventory. This is actually a job for a manager. However, before the previous Front Office Manager got transferred to a different property, she taught me how to do this. In fact, in the entire front desk department, I am the only one whom she successfully taught. As such, it is a challenge for me to do so because the entire hotel’s revenue somewhat depends on me. If I do not balance the inventory, we could either be losing revenue by not selling all our rooms, or we could be overbooking rooms, which will cost us more.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had this week is that every time there is a day when we are close to being sold out, my supervisor’s video call me if I am not at work. It is difficult at times because balancing out the system involves codes and simple math. Whenever I am out of the house and they call me, I really will have to set aside what I am doing to help them figure out how to balance it out and eventually close the reservations system. As such, I tried to teach the Front Office supervisors. To my dismay, they still were unable to understand it.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

Being the only person at the front desk who knows how to do such thing is both a pleasant and unpleasant experience at the same time. For example, if I am working the morning shift and I noticed that we are close to being sold out, I will personally balance it out myself so that the PM shift will have nothing to worry about. Whenever I do it, the General Manager gives me credit for it, which is a positive thing. However, during the times wherein I cannot balance it myself, I end up getting calls late at night from the PM supervisor to teach her how to close the system, which is very unpleasant.

Other comments and observations or suggestions

One major suggestion that I have is that our revenue manager should teach my supervisors how to balance out the inventory. Although I know how to do it, it is not my job to teach them and guide them how to. It is also not even part of my job description to close the system.

bottom of page