top of page

WEEK 24

[03.30.18 - 04.05.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

During the week, I mainly had to do managerial work, as I was the manager on duty for all my shifts. As a manager on duty, I am required to count the hotel bank after each shift, ensure the front desk staff and the bellmen accomplish their checklists, check the occupancy report, balance inventory, and a lot more.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One difficulty I encountered this week was doing a service recovery to a guest who did not have electricity in his room throughout the entire night beginning 1:00 AM. I could not explain to him how that happened since all the other guest rooms did not experience that. Fortunately, the guest was very understanding regarding the entire situation. It was very difficult to do a service recovery because the Night Audit team could not switch his room since we were sold out that night and did not have any other rooms available. I offered to compensate him by taking off the room charges, but he did not agree since his company is paying for the room anyway. Instead, I offered him 30,000 Marriott Reward points instead so he can redeem a free night at any hotel of the same category.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

I learned that having a managerial title makes a huge difference in terms of doing service recovery. I noticed this when a guest was first complaining to a front desk agent about a situation. The agent then offered her some sort of compensation, but the guest did not agree to it and wanted to speak to a manager. During that time, I was the manager on duty so I had to speak with the guest. I told the guest exactly what the agent offered to her, but this time she agreed and was even very grateful.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred this week was when the assistant general manager told me that him and the general manager are looking into promoting me to a higher position at the front desk. He said that they both think I have a lot of potential in the industry and that I am a great asset to the hotel.

WEEK 24

[03.30.18 - 04.05.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

During the week, I mainly had to do managerial work, as I was the manager on duty for all my shifts. As a manager on duty, I am required to count the hotel bank after each shift, ensure the front desk staff and the bellmen accomplish their checklists, check the occupancy report, balance inventory, and a lot more.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One difficulty I encountered this week was doing a service recovery to a guest who did not have electricity in his room throughout the entire night beginning 1:00 AM. I could not explain to him how that happened since all the other guest rooms did not experience that. Fortunately, the guest was very understanding regarding the entire situation. It was very difficult to do a service recovery because the Night Audit team could not switch his room since we were sold out that night and did not have any other rooms available. I offered to compensate him by taking off the room charges, but he did not agree since his company is paying for the room anyway. Instead, I offered him 30,000 Marriott Reward points instead so he can redeem a free night at any hotel of the same category.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

I learned that having a managerial title makes a huge difference in terms of doing service recovery. I noticed this when a guest was first complaining to a front desk agent about a situation. The agent then offered her some sort of compensation, but the guest did not agree to it and wanted to speak to a manager. During that time, I was the manager on duty so I had to speak with the guest. I told the guest exactly what the agent offered to her, but this time she agreed and was even very grateful.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred this week was when the assistant general manager told me that him and the general manager are looking into promoting me to a higher position at the front desk. He said that they both think I have a lot of potential in the industry and that I am a great asset to the hotel.

bottom of page