top of page

WEEK 22

[03.16.18 - 03.22.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week During this week, we experienced another snowstorm. Being the manager on duty for the morning shift for most of the week, I was in charge yet again for all the popup distress groups. This week, we had roughly around five different groups come in within a span of two days due to the group. Just like last week, I had to prepare for all the arrivals of the group. I had to pre-check in all the guaranteed rooms, segregate the king beds from the double beds, put in the meal vouchers and make the log-in sheets.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation The challenge this week was having to prepare for three groups in one day. In the previous week, I only had to prepare and setup one group per day. However, this week, it came to a point wherein I had to prepare for three groups in one day. I was able to handle the situation by asking the Operations Manager if I could call someone in to help me out, especially because the other person working with me at the desk is just a trainee and is fairly new. Fortunately, he agreed and asked me to call someone in at around noon to work the mid shift so that she could help me out.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week What I learned this week is that you should always know when to call for help. In this industry, teamwork is very essential. One person cannot just take all the tasks himself to emerge as a “superhero”. Doing such can lead to various ways of failure since the industry is very demanding.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week A pleasant experience that occurred this week was when the Sales office rewarded me with an incentive for helping them out with all the popup groups. The sales department usually keeps the cut from the groups to themselves since they did all the bookings. However, it was different this time. They mentioned that I deserved a cut because they know that what I did was not easy yet everything went smoothly.

WEEK 22

[03.16.18 - 03.22.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week During this week, we experienced another snowstorm. Being the manager on duty for the morning shift for most of the week, I was in charge yet again for all the popup distress groups. This week, we had roughly around five different groups come in within a span of two days due to the group. Just like last week, I had to prepare for all the arrivals of the group. I had to pre-check in all the guaranteed rooms, segregate the king beds from the double beds, put in the meal vouchers and make the log-in sheets.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation The challenge this week was having to prepare for three groups in one day. In the previous week, I only had to prepare and setup one group per day. However, this week, it came to a point wherein I had to prepare for three groups in one day. I was able to handle the situation by asking the Operations Manager if I could call someone in to help me out, especially because the other person working with me at the desk is just a trainee and is fairly new. Fortunately, he agreed and asked me to call someone in at around noon to work the mid shift so that she could help me out.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week What I learned this week is that you should always know when to call for help. In this industry, teamwork is very essential. One person cannot just take all the tasks himself to emerge as a “superhero”. Doing such can lead to various ways of failure since the industry is very demanding.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week A pleasant experience that occurred this week was when the Sales office rewarded me with an incentive for helping them out with all the popup groups. The sales department usually keeps the cut from the groups to themselves since they did all the bookings. However, it was different this time. They mentioned that I deserved a cut because they know that what I did was not easy yet everything went smoothly.

bottom of page