top of page

WEEK 3

[11.03.17 - 11.09.17]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

Apart from the usual check ins and check outs, I was able to take in cash as well for the rooms and not just for the gift shop. I was also able to separate the bill in case guests want a different bill for incidentals and for the room and tax.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One main challenge I encountered was having to run almost all my shifts this week by myself up front in the front desk. My colleague called out sick on the first day of the week. Since it was just the two of us assigned for that shift, I technically had to run it myself. If I needed help, I had to call someone from the Executive Office since there was nobody else there for the Front Desk. This went on for the rest of the week since my colleague called out for the other days as well. It was pretty difficult since it was just my third week working. Fortunately, the week was slow. Moreover, my shifts were all AM shifts (7AM-3PM), which means it is more focused on checkouts rather than check ins. Due to this, I was able to manage it much better since only a handful of guests stopped by the desk to physically checkout.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

An insight I learned this week is that you should always be ready for anything. You never know when somebody might just call out so you should always be prepared to step up. Even if I was just an intern at the property, everybody expected me to step up, which is what I did. You should never use the fact that you are just an intern as an excuse. Guests that come up to you do not know that you are just an intern, unless you tell them. This means that they look at you and treat you just like how they do with your other colleagues. As such, you should always be prepared to step up.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

I would say that having to work alone is both a pleasant and unpleasant experience. This is due to the fact that I was able to show everybody that I was able to manage it alone, however it put more pressure on me.

Other Comments and observations or suggestions

One suggestion I have is to have a back up plan for when somebody calls out. They should be ready to have someone come in, especially if the only one that would be left behind is an intern or somebody new.

WEEK 3

[11.03.17 - 11.09.17]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

Apart from the usual check ins and check outs, I was able to take in cash as well for the rooms and not just for the gift shop. I was also able to separate the bill in case guests want a different bill for incidentals and for the room and tax.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One main challenge I encountered was having to run almost all my shifts this week by myself up front in the front desk. My colleague called out sick on the first day of the week. Since it was just the two of us assigned for that shift, I technically had to run it myself. If I needed help, I had to call someone from the Executive Office since there was nobody else there for the Front Desk. This went on for the rest of the week since my colleague called out for the other days as well. It was pretty difficult since it was just my third week working. Fortunately, the week was slow. Moreover, my shifts were all AM shifts (7AM-3PM), which means it is more focused on checkouts rather than check ins. Due to this, I was able to manage it much better since only a handful of guests stopped by the desk to physically checkout.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

An insight I learned this week is that you should always be ready for anything. You never know when somebody might just call out so you should always be prepared to step up. Even if I was just an intern at the property, everybody expected me to step up, which is what I did. You should never use the fact that you are just an intern as an excuse. Guests that come up to you do not know that you are just an intern, unless you tell them. This means that they look at you and treat you just like how they do with your other colleagues. As such, you should always be prepared to step up.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

I would say that having to work alone is both a pleasant and unpleasant experience. This is due to the fact that I was able to show everybody that I was able to manage it alone, however it put more pressure on me.

Other Comments and observations or suggestions

One suggestion I have is to have a back up plan for when somebody calls out. They should be ready to have someone come in, especially if the only one that would be left behind is an intern or somebody new.

bottom of page