top of page

WEEK 2

[10.27.17 - 11.02.17]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

By the start of my second week, I was already familiar with the whole system. As such, my boss assigned me to start checking in guests as well as checking them out. The check out system is actually much more simple compared to the check-in because it is not necessary for the guests to stop by the desk anymore. Their bill is slipped under their door then they can just walk out of the hotel since we already get a credit card to have on file when they check in. Those who stop by the desk for checkouts usually just have a question regarding their bill. One new duty I also did this week was taking in cash for an item at the gift shop. I had to post the money in the system then keep the money in my draw until my shift is done. Once your shift is done, you have to close your shift and drop how much cash you took in. This is something that must be done everyday.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One challenge I encountered was a guest who tried to split her bill into two different cards. Since I was new to the system, I had to ask my colleague to assist me with it. Thankfully, the guest was patient enough and allowed my colleague to walk me through the steps of splitting a bill using the PMS system.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

An insight I learned this week is that perseverance and curiosity are necessities in this industry. Possessing these two attitudes lead you to new discoveries. There was one day in the week wherein I was curious about the coupons inside this drawer. All the vouchers are for free breakfast but they are different in terms of the reason. There is one type of voucher to give as a guest recovery, another voucher to give to guests who have breakfast included and another one for Platinum and Gold Members on weekends. Apparently, my boss forgot to teach me about them during my first week so it was good that I was curious about them.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred this week was the Front Office Manager commending me about how quickly I picked up on the system as well as the whole Front Desk process. She even mentioned that I had the fastest progress in terms of learning compared to the other interns before me.

Other Comments and observations or suggestions

One suggestion I have for the hotel is to have a whole day type of orientation for new employees to be able to learn everything completely, rather than having them work right away.

WEEK 2

[10.27.17 - 11.02.17]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

By the start of my second week, I was already familiar with the whole system. As such, my boss assigned me to start checking in guests as well as checking them out. The check out system is actually much more simple compared to the check-in because it is not necessary for the guests to stop by the desk anymore. Their bill is slipped under their door then they can just walk out of the hotel since we already get a credit card to have on file when they check in. Those who stop by the desk for checkouts usually just have a question regarding their bill. One new duty I also did this week was taking in cash for an item at the gift shop. I had to post the money in the system then keep the money in my draw until my shift is done. Once your shift is done, you have to close your shift and drop how much cash you took in. This is something that must be done everyday.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One challenge I encountered was a guest who tried to split her bill into two different cards. Since I was new to the system, I had to ask my colleague to assist me with it. Thankfully, the guest was patient enough and allowed my colleague to walk me through the steps of splitting a bill using the PMS system.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

An insight I learned this week is that perseverance and curiosity are necessities in this industry. Possessing these two attitudes lead you to new discoveries. There was one day in the week wherein I was curious about the coupons inside this drawer. All the vouchers are for free breakfast but they are different in terms of the reason. There is one type of voucher to give as a guest recovery, another voucher to give to guests who have breakfast included and another one for Platinum and Gold Members on weekends. Apparently, my boss forgot to teach me about them during my first week so it was good that I was curious about them.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred this week was the Front Office Manager commending me about how quickly I picked up on the system as well as the whole Front Desk process. She even mentioned that I had the fastest progress in terms of learning compared to the other interns before me.

Other Comments and observations or suggestions

One suggestion I have for the hotel is to have a whole day type of orientation for new employees to be able to learn everything completely, rather than having them work right away.

bottom of page