top of page

WEEK 1

[10.23.18 - 10.26.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

On my first few days, my boss focused on teaching me how to use the system. I was also taught on the whole check-in and check-out process of the hotel. Moreover, being that Melville Marriott is a part of the Marriott chain of hotels, I had to learn about the different levels of being a rewards member and what each level entails to. The whole week was dedicated to training and learning about everything about the front desk. As for the F&B department, I was assigned to be a hostess. I had to learn about the POS Micros System since the hostess is assigned to take to-go orders as well, apart from having to sit and welcome guests.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One difficulty I encountered was learning the system. In Enderun, we were taught how to use Micros Opera while in my first internship, I was taught how to use Epitome PMS. However, Marriott has its own PMS that is completely different from the two other systems I learned. In fact, it is more difficult since the whole system relies only on the keyboard, the computer mouse is not necessary at all so it made it harder to go to each prompt. In order for me to overcome this difficulty, I took down notes while my boss was teaching me about the system. I listed down each code and number that needed to be typed in. Another challenge was having to remember what each rewards member is entitled to. For example, a Platinum member is the highest tier of the rewards program. Each time a Platinum guest checks in, they have a welcome gift. It could either be Welcome Points, which means 500 points will be added to their account, or a $10 voucher that could be used at the restaurant and bar. This was a challenge because if you forget to offer it to a guest and the guest complains about you not offering it to them, the hotel will have to give him $200.00. I was able to deal with the situation for this week by referring to my notes each time I see a rewards member checking in. I also studied my notes at home so that it will be easier for me to remember.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had is that the system gets much more simple day by day.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred was when the F&B Manager commended me for picking up the system quacking and learning the tasks of a hostess right away. He even asked me if I had any previous experience working at a restaurant. I explained to him that we had a class back in college called “F&B Service Procedures” which teaches us the different tasks of each position in the restaurant.

WEEK 1

[10.23.18 - 10.26.18]

Activities, duties performed and accomplishments during the week

On my first few days, my boss focused on teaching me how to use the system. I was also taught on the whole check-in and check-out process of the hotel. Moreover, being that Melville Marriott is a part of the Marriott chain of hotels, I had to learn about the different levels of being a rewards member and what each level entails to. The whole week was dedicated to training and learning about everything about the front desk. As for the F&B department, I was assigned to be a hostess. I had to learn about the POS Micros System since the hostess is assigned to take to-go orders as well, apart from having to sit and welcome guests.

Challenges or difficulties encountered and how you are dealing or have dealt with the situation

One difficulty I encountered was learning the system. In Enderun, we were taught how to use Micros Opera while in my first internship, I was taught how to use Epitome PMS. However, Marriott has its own PMS that is completely different from the two other systems I learned. In fact, it is more difficult since the whole system relies only on the keyboard, the computer mouse is not necessary at all so it made it harder to go to each prompt. In order for me to overcome this difficulty, I took down notes while my boss was teaching me about the system. I listed down each code and number that needed to be typed in. Another challenge was having to remember what each rewards member is entitled to. For example, a Platinum member is the highest tier of the rewards program. Each time a Platinum guest checks in, they have a welcome gift. It could either be Welcome Points, which means 500 points will be added to their account, or a $10 voucher that could be used at the restaurant and bar. This was a challenge because if you forget to offer it to a guest and the guest complains about you not offering it to them, the hotel will have to give him $200.00. I was able to deal with the situation for this week by referring to my notes each time I see a rewards member checking in. I also studied my notes at home so that it will be easier for me to remember.

Notes, observations or insights on things you have learned this week

One observation I had is that the system gets much more simple day by day.

List any pleasant or unpleasant experiences that occurred this week

A pleasant experience that occurred was when the F&B Manager commended me for picking up the system quacking and learning the tasks of a hostess right away. He even asked me if I had any previous experience working at a restaurant. I explained to him that we had a class back in college called “F&B Service Procedures” which teaches us the different tasks of each position in the restaurant.

bottom of page